Monthly Archives: July 2016

Books in a series

As a lover of mystery and crime thrillers, I find myself following myriad ‘series’.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the aspect of following a set of characters over numerous books.  When I was ‘just’ a reader, I would religiously … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction, Reading, Series order | Tagged , | 29 Comments

“A Game for all the Family” by Sophie Hannah – Book Review

“People will generally accept facts as truth only if the facts agree with what they already believe.” ~ Andy Rooney Publisher’s blurb: Independent Justine thought she knew who she was, until an anonymous caller seemed to know better…  After escaping London … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Edelweiss, Psychological thrillers | Tagged , , , , | 10 Comments

“Fog on her glasses” (poem about reading)

I have no idea of the provenence of this little poem, but I think it is great! I found it on Pinterest….  If anyone can tell me the author I will add the credit on this post. I’m hoping that some … Continue reading

Posted in Poetry, Reading | Tagged | 6 Comments

Cover Love part 7: Piers

I find myself attracted to certain kinds of covers.  Covers are, after all, the way the publisher ‘hooks’ the reader into choosing one book over countless others. In this, my seventh installment of ‘Cover Love‘, I’d like to show you fourteen books from my Goodreads … Continue reading

Posted in Cover Love series, Dustjackets, Fiction | Tagged , | 14 Comments

“In a Dark, Dark Wood” by Ruth Ware

Leonora Shaw is a solitary woman.  She writes crime novels for a living from her miniscule flat in London.  She is a runner (another solitary pursuit). She wasn’t always a private, solitary person.  Back at school, she had a social life, … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, debut novels, Fiction, Mystery fiction, Page turners, Suspense | Tagged , , , , | 16 Comments

20 Questions – interview with novelist Louise Jensen

I just finished reading “The Sister“, so I was delighted that Louise Jensen has agreed to answer some of my questions. Thanks Louise, both for your time and consenting to this interview. F: How long did it take to get … Continue reading

Posted in author interviews, Authors, debut novels, Psychological thrillers, Writing | Tagged , , , , | 6 Comments

“The Sister” by Louise Jensen – Book Review

Best friends. Besties. BFFs.  The importance of having a special best friend is SO very important to adolescent girls.  Sometimes these important friendships last until adulthood.  Some are lifelong. Some end in death… Grace Matthews has had a traumatic childhood. … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Bookouture, debut novels, NetGalley, Page turners, Psychological thrillers, Suspense | Tagged , , , , | 11 Comments

Favorite titles read in 2016 (so far…)

I am a third of the way through my 60th title of 2016 and can say it has been a ‘bumper’ year for great reads! I thought I’d share my SIX favorite titles so far… Just click on the title to read … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Choosing what to read next, Favorite books, Fiction | Tagged , , | 20 Comments

20 questions – interview with novelist Susie Steiner

Susie Steiner has graciously consented to an interview! She shares some of her thoughts on the writing process, her inspiration for her great new novel “Missing, Presumed“,  AND has given me many more titles to add to my own TBR! … Continue reading

Posted in author interviews, Authors, Writing | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

“Missing, Presumed” by Susie Steiner – Book Review

“This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.”—Booklist I couldn’t agree more! What a pleasant surprise this crime novel turned out to … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Favorite books, Mystery fiction, NetGalley | Tagged , , , , , , | 12 Comments

“Shadowed” by Karen E. Olson

Last year I read a thriller that I really enjoyed called “Hidden”.  This book introduced me to Nicole Jones, a computer hacker who has been living for fifteen years under the radar so as to be one step ahead of … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Fiction, Mystery fiction, NetGalley, Page turners, Suspense | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Cover Love : Part 6 – Jars

I find myself attracted to certain kinds of covers.  Covers are, after all, the way the publisher ‘hooks’ the reader into choosing one book over countless others. In this, my sixth installment of ‘Cover Love‘, I’d like to show you several books  that feature jars on … Continue reading

Posted in Cover Love series, Dustjackets, Fiction | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

“Before the fall” by Noah Hawley – Book Review

A private plane crashes sixteen minutes after taking off from Martha’s Vineyard.  Aboard are eleven people.  The Bateman family of four (David, Maggie, nine-year old Rachel and four-year old JJ) and their security guard Gil Baruch, Ben and Sarah Kipling, a … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, NetGalley, Suspense | Tagged | 10 Comments

Happy 4th of July

Wishing all my American followers a very happy Independence Day!

Posted in Fiction | 3 Comments

Guest post + interview with novelist Andrew Joyce

My name is Andrew Joyce, and I write books for a living. One morning, about five years ago, I went crazy. I got out of bed, went downstairs, and threw my TV out the window. Then I sat down at … Continue reading

Posted in author interviews, Authors, Guest post, Historical fiction, Men's fiction | Tagged , , , | 11 Comments