A series I started that I’d love to finish…

You know how it is.  Years ago you read a book you REALLY liked, then the sequel, which you also really liked.  Then… years pass and you realize that this author has written another six novels, all featuring the same characters, all part of a series!series-i-started-jsf

When WILL you have time to go back and read the six you’ve missed?  Can you remember enough about the first two to thoroughly enjoy them?  Really, all you DO remember is that you enjoyed them and that you really liked the characters.

Yes, this just happened to me.  Case in point:

Author Julia Spencer-Fleming‘s Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne series.

Russ is the police chief of the small Adirondack town of Miller’s Kill, in upstate New York. Untraditional in every sense, Clare is not just a “lady,” she’s a tough ex-Army chopper pilot, and nobody’s fool.  When Clare arrives in Miller’s Kill, she is newly ordained and the first female Episcopal priest the town has ever known.  Russ Van Alstyne does not know what to make of her… other than he is deeply attracted to her.  There is one huge hitch however – Russ is married.

The series follows the pair as they investigate crimes, face ethical dilemmas, and stoically resist their feelings for one another.

The novels in the series are:



#1 “In the bleak midwinter





#2 “A fountain filled with blood





#3 “Out of the deep I cry





#4 “To darkness and to death





#5 “All mortal flesh





#6 “I shall not want





#7 “One was a soldier





#8 “Through the evil days



#9 “Hid from our eyes”  (not yet published)

Read this great interview with Julia Spencer-Fleming and the novelist Hank Phillippi Ryan.

Julia Spencer-Fleming

Julia Spencer-Fleming

Julia Spencer-Fleming is the winner of the Agatha, Anthony, Macavity, Dilys, Barry, Nero Wolfe, and Gumshoe Awards, and an Edgar and Romantic Times RC Award finalist.

Why not give her series a try?

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Authors, Mystery fiction, Series order and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A series I started that I’d love to finish…

  1. skyecaitlin says:

    Another series I would love to read. Thank you!


  2. Pingback: The Sunshine Blogger Award! – Not-so-modern girl

  3. sahmoun2778 says:

    Now you’ve got me interested. And what if I read the first book and like it, then there’s 8 more to read to get caught up! What have you done to me!?!


  4. Christine says:

    Lynne, i just looked at this series yesterday! Will definitely go for it! My series that I MUST get back to is the 15-book Cork O’Connor series by William Kent Krueger, the author of Ordinary Grace. I fell in love with it, but got sidetracked after the first 3. Getting back to it soon.


    • Fictionophile says:

      I really enjoyed “Ordinary Grace” but have not tried any of his Cork O’Connor series. Thanks for the recommendation Christine!


  5. The Paperback Princess says:

    Omg, yes! Except for me it’s the Clifton chronicles by Jeffrey Archer! I’ve only read the first book and that was last year! Lol.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s