ALA unveils shortlist for 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence

This popped in my inbox this morning and I thought some of you might be interested.

For Immediate Release 

ALA unveils shortlist for 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

CHICAGO –Today, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the six books shortlisted for the esteemed Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, awarded for the previous year’s best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the United States. 2022 selection committee chair Terry Hong will announce the two medal winners at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards (BMAs) virtual event on Sunday, Jan. 23, 2022, 5 p.m. CT, during LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience. 

2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction shortlist titles include:

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction 2022 Shortlist

The Five Wounds,” by Kirstin Valdez Quade. W. W. Norton & Company.
Amadeo Padilla filled the role of Jesus during the re-creation of the Crucifixion as part of Holy Week, and he also has heavy burdens to bear in his real-life in Las Penas, New Mexico, with his pregnant teen daughter, Angel and an ailing matriarch. Quade delivers a nuanced and authentic tale of characters who understand the inevitability of fate but try to forge ahead anyway in the hope of breaking free. Matrix,” by Lauren Groff. Riverhead Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.
In the twelfth century, Marie, former child crusader and “bastardess heir to the crown” of France and England, at age 17, considered unmarriageable due to her great height and plainness, arrives at the dismal abbey that she will eventually transform as abbess over the course of Groff’s splendidly daring, descriptive and spine-tingling novel of faith, power and temptation. The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu,” by Tom Lin. Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group.
In Utah, in 1869, Ming Tsu reckons he has killed some 200 men and is now on his way to killing the five who had beaten him half to death, stolen his wife, and had him sentenced to 10 years of forced labor building the Central Pacific Railroad. Two years later, Ming has escaped and is ready for retribution. Infused with magic realism, Lin’s beautifully imagined first novel is a transcendent epic.

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction 2022 Shortlist

Four Hundred Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619–2019,” by Ibram X. Kendi and Keisha N. Blain. One World, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.
African American history is a communal quilt, crisscrossed with the stitches of elders, youth, LGBTQ folk, mothers, fathers, revolutionaries and poets. Editors Kendi and Blain honor this multilayered heritage in a monumental work of collaborative history. Ninety Black writers each take on a five-year period from 1619–2019, and each 40-year section concludes with a poem adding up to a seamless collection that crackles with rage, beauty, bitter humor, and the indomitable will to survive.

A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance,” by Hanif Abdurraqib.
Random House, a division of Penguin Random House LLC.
Blending pop-culture essays, memoir and poetry, Abdurraqib delves into the many iterations of Black artistic expression through an often deeply personal lens. Divided into five “movements,” these pieces offer an expansive exploration of subjects ranging from the often-tragic lives of legendary Black artists to close examination of a singular performance. Startling, layered and timely, this is an essential, illuminating collection.

Seek You: A Journey through American Loneliness,” by Kristen Radtke. Pantheon Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC.
Radtke examines isolation as a social, biological, and personal phenomenon in a graphic-essay style, centering her inquiry around four human behaviors—listen, watch, click and touch­­ing—and considering television, American “loners,” social media, and the need for touch in prose and vector-drawn illustrations, rendering contextual and emotional detail in a provocative and engaging look at loneliness.

Carnegie Medal winners will each receive $5,000. All the finalists will be honored during a celebratory event in the summer of 2022 during ALA’s annual conference.

The awards, established in 2012, serve as a guide to help adults select quality reading material. They are the first single-book awards for adult books given by the American Library Association and reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals and booksellers who work closely with adult readers.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in award winners and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ALA unveils shortlist for 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence

  1. Pingback: ALA unveils shortlist for 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence – Imobiliare 24

  2. Pingback: ALA unveils shortlist for 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence – Book Library

  3. Carol says:

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s