Category Archives: Choosing what to read next

Books on my TBR that have an autumn ‘vibe’

Autumn is my favourite time of the year. The fall colours, the crisp air, wearing sweaters, and of course… reading snuggled up under a lovely afghan. I was scanning my Goodreads TBR and noticed that several of the books on … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Dustjackets | Tagged , | 28 Comments

2019 – Halfway reflections on my TBR : Part 1

Halfway through the year and I’m starting to wonder how I will get all the reading done that I really want to do. So far, I’ve read 57 books in 2019. Many of the 57 were absolutely great reads. Near, … Continue reading

Posted in Anticipated titles, Choosing what to read next | Tagged | 12 Comments

June 2019 #TBR

  Here are the eight titles I plan to read and review during the month of June. With my personal life in turmoil, I may not get all of them read in June. Fingers crossed… Also, I have switched over … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next | Tagged | 16 Comments

April 2019 #TBR – a plan

(as is my usual custom I have linked the cover graphic to Goodreads so that you might learn more about the book) I read twelve novels in March, so I thought I’d attempt to read eleven April. Here are my … Continue reading

Posted in Anticipated titles, Choosing what to read next | Tagged | 22 Comments

Police Procedural series I want to start – Part III

I can’t help myself. Police procedurals, particularly those set in the United Kingdom, are probably my favourite type of read.  Part 1 and 2 of this blog series was SO rewarding, that I thought I’d give it another go. The … Continue reading

Posted in 1st in series, Choosing what to read next | Tagged , , | 18 Comments

Winner of my second Police Procedural series poll

I found that polling you guys for my next police procedural read was a huge success the first time. I read the first poll winner “For Reasons Unknown” by Michael Wood and loved it. SO… I decided to do it … Continue reading

Posted in 1st in series, Anticipated titles, Choosing what to read next | Tagged , | 34 Comments

Fictionophile’s February #TBR – a plan

I surprised myself and actually read ELEVEN titles in January. (My usual is about eight) In the attempt to tame my rather wild TBR (190 titles with review commitments), I plan to read another TEN titles in February. I thought … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fictionophile report | Tagged , | 37 Comments

Police Procedural series I want to start – Part II

I can’t help myself. Police procedurals, particularly those set in the United Kingdom, are probably my favourite type of read.  Part I of this blog series was SO rewarding, that I thought I’d give it another go. Last time, the … Continue reading

Posted in 1st in series, Choosing what to read next | Tagged , , | 25 Comments

Reading Anticipation

Many of us complain about our lengthy TBRs – but are we really complaining?  I think not. I have literally hundreds of books, in both print format and digital format that I haven’t read yet. And guess what? I wouldn’t … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, home libraries, ramblings & miscellanea, Reading | Tagged , | 52 Comments

January 2019 #TBR

Last year I began posting my reading ‘plan’ for the month. Well folks, it didn’t turn out so well.  I think I did it for three months – then fell off the wagon. I’m starting 2019 with the intentions to … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fictionophile report | Tagged | 15 Comments

Recommended by Book Bloggers… Part 1

I am constantly adding to my TBR. The reason for this? BOOK BLOGGERS! As the recipient of a lot of book blogger support, I try to repay in kind by visiting other book blogger’s blogs. Over the years I’ve naturally … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next | Tagged , | 21 Comments

June TBR: a plan

Well folks this is the third month of my plan to get a handle on my TBR.  In addition to trying to get the oldest titles off my list, I’ve been valiantly trying to abstain from requesting anything on NetGalley … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next | Tagged | 28 Comments

May TBR: a plan

(you know what they say about plans…)       This is my second month of really planning out my reading. Last month was successful. I actually read all ten titles in my April TBR plan, plus another title that … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fictionophile report | Tagged , | 28 Comments

#TBR ten titles I covet – but don’t have yet

My TBR is LONG already, so why would I want MORE BOOKS?  Book bloggers can NEVER have enough books.  It is a sickness, a compulsion, a craving. I thought I’d share with you the TEN titles that I do NOT have … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next | Tagged , | 41 Comments

America’s reading habits: an infographic

Wondering What Everyone Else Is Reading? The Most Popular Book Across the US Is… Are you the type who’s used to craning your neck so you can make out the cover titles of your fellow subway commuters’ books?  Can’t wait … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Guest post, Reading | Tagged | 13 Comments